KSN Podcast: Breaking down the 4 teams in the College Football Playoff field

The inaugural College Football Playoff field was set as the committee announced semifinalists in No. 1 Alabama, No. 2 Oregon, No. 3 Florida State and No. 4 Ohio State. The Buckeyes snuck in on the strength of a 59-0 blowout win over Wisconsin, edging Big 12 co-champions Baylor and TCU, both of whom played one less game and were docked style points by not winning their conference outright.

Four of the Power Five conferences were represented in the semifinals, which could prompt changes in how the Big 12 operates in the very near future. The lack of clarity between Baylor and TCU was an issue that could have been resolved, had the conference adapted different rules or the head-to-head outcome between the two programs been different.

As it stands, Ohio State and Alabama will square off in the Sugar Bowl, while Oregon and Florida State will clash in the Rose Bowl. The winners will meet in the national championship game Jan. 12.

The system landed on four deserving teams and had reasons to justify bypassing Baylor and TCU, but it still created controversy that could eventually lead to change in how the Big 12 Conference operates. Strength of schedule and an additional showcase in a league championship game both proved to be key selling points for the No. 4 Buckeyes.

Did the committee make the right decision? Can Ohio State possibly compete with mighty Alabama? Bob Flounders and Andrew P. Shay debated those points and more in this week’s Keystone Sports Network podcast. Check out audio from the show in this post and get plenty more podcasts and analysis on KeystoneSportsNetwork.com and by following @KSNSportsNet on Twitter.

Download KSN Podcast: Breaking down the College Football Playoff

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *